I Am Uniquely Eve

Mover * Shaker * Dancer * Actor

Tween Yoga & The Power of House Music

Leave a comment

The tween yoga class was tough this week. The girls are really not very caring or mindful and talk whenever they feel like whether I am talking or not. One does stuff all through class to distract and make the others laugh. I finally had to call them on it and become quite stern.

I actually made them lie down and rest in savasana to start class because they just would not shut up. Two of them continued to hysterically laugh silently while lying down, but after 20 minutes, I finally got a few moments of utter silence and it felt like a breakthrough.

At the end of class, I gave them each 6 yoga pose cards with the instruction to first, look at the cards and make a sequence with them that felt right for them. They should do 2-3 breaths in each pose and if they were to finish before the others, they could repeat poses or lie silent in savasana. After a certain time, I would have them all stand and rotate to the next mat, and then repeat.

I turned on a yoga playlist and actually turned it up quite loud. They started to ask me for music that they wanted but I said no that I would choose. The list started with One More by Cymande, High Priestess by Karma. Somewhere around Life Is Something Special by the NYC Peech Boys, I noticed a real shift had happened in them and there were pockets of silence. During Beautiful by Laroye/Lee Wilson, you wouldn’t believe it, but they were really digging it, especially one student. First she was dancing with her arms while in cobra (which at first I was going to say for her to be careful of her elbows, but I thought of all the funky dance movements people do and thought this is her expression and zipped my lips instead). This then progressed to much more dancey movement while in standing poses. I was watching silently and just loving their vibe. They all were really getting some yoga-time. One student started to remark about her dancing and I immediately jumped in and said I thought it was awesome and I loved her grooving-ness and that even got a few more of them grooving. Well it may all go back next class, but this one was truly one for the books!

All hail the power of house music!

Playlist:

One More by Cymande

High Priestess by Karma

Life Is Something Special by NYC Peech Boys

Beautiful (Extended Mix) by Laroye, Lee Wilson

Sa Ta Na Ma by Jiwanpal Kaur

I Am (Krishna Liquid Mix) by Nirinjan Kaur

Sat Nam by Meditative Mind

Song of Sadhana by ?

#evecostarelliwrites #movewitheve #alwaysbedancing #thebalabustamonologues #queenbalabusta #yogalife #actorslife #uniquelyeve #iamuniquelyeve

Author: Eve Costarelli

Always Be Dancing: Move With Eve: I bring accessible yoga, dance and mindfulness programs to school communities, fitness professionals, Pt's/OT's, yoga studios and every(body) in between through classes, workshops, professional development seminars, public speaking, and guest blogging. I can create a program specific to your needs. My self designed ¡Ole Namaste! infuses the movements, breathwork and meditation of yoga with the music and dance of flamenco. Come have a body stretching, breath enhancing, mind relaxing, hand clapping good time! In this fun, upbeat mindful movement class, that is infused with the music and dance of flamenco, students will absorb the dramatic postures and colorful flavor of flamenco while exploring yoga poses, flamenco technique, breathwork and meditation. Each class will include a demonstration of flamenco by the instructor.

Leave a comment