I Am Uniquely Eve

Mover * Shaker * Dancer * Actor

The Moral Code of Yoga

Leave a comment

The Moral Code of Yoga seems to me the way everyone should be raised and should raise themselves. In some ways it seems so simple, but we are creatures often ruled by our impulses, but if we are made aware of our ability to choose, from an early age, then maybe we can really start living as children and then as grownups we won’t miss our squandered youth.

1. Ahimsa: non-violence, non-injury, harmlessness. Free yourself of aggression, preconceptions and suspicion and you will be able to create an attitude free of violence.
2. Satya: truthfulness, honesty. By being honest, we as individuals can gain self assurance and also gain the trust of others.
3. Asteya: non-stealing, honesty. Stealing is not only a materialistic pursuit; be sure to own your own ideas. Use your own original thoughts.
4. Brahmacharya: self control in thought, word and deed as well as control of all the senses. Practice self control and moderation throughout life. Do not take more than you need. Do not fall victim to your desires.
5. Aparigraha: non-possessiveness, non-greed, non-selfishness. Materialism does not make you a better person. Be happy with what you have. Free yourself of greed.
6. Shaucha: purity, cleanliness. Cleanliness of body, clothing, food and surroundings and also of thought, words and actions. Keeping things clean (pure) encourages a healthy life and a clean mind allows for positive thinking.
7. Santosha: contentment, peacefulness. Thankfulness. Be content with what you have. Appreciate the small things in life. Be at peace with everyone and accept who you are. Contented feelings come from consciousness and self knowledge not from the possession of things.
8. Tapas: Self Discipline. Helps develop positive habits such as self control. Allows the individual to make choices through which their lives will become more ordered and better organized. Use yoga, meditation, good eating habits. Take care of yourself in body and mind.
9. Swadhyaya: introspective self-study. This is self directed learning and allows for the discovery of the real self. Use yoga, meditation, reading and journal writing to answer your own life questions.
10. Ishwarapranidhana: Live a spiritual life. Do not be driven by your wants and desires. Be confident in your own strength and believe you are ok as you are.

Author: Eve Costarelli

Always Be Dancing: Move With Eve: I bring accessible yoga, dance and mindfulness programs to school communities, fitness professionals, Pt's/OT's, yoga studios and every(body) in between through classes, workshops, professional development seminars, public speaking, and guest blogging. I can create a program specific to your needs. My self designed ¡Ole Namaste! infuses the movements, breathwork and meditation of yoga with the music and dance of flamenco. Come have a body stretching, breath enhancing, mind relaxing, hand clapping good time! In this fun, upbeat mindful movement class, that is infused with the music and dance of flamenco, students will absorb the dramatic postures and colorful flavor of flamenco while exploring yoga poses, flamenco technique, breathwork and meditation. Each class will include a demonstration of flamenco by the instructor.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s